My Idiom

This is a bookworm! It literally means a worm that likes books. It figuratively means someone that likes books. I chose this idiom because some people call me a bookworm. I think that I don’t have to tell you that I am not a worm that likes books. I think that people who read books should just be called people who read books. I also think that I don’t have to tell you that worms don’t read books, so where does that saying come from? I looked it up and here is what it said:  The origin of the idiom “bookworm” probably originated as a somewhat derogatory term for a person who studied or read more than was usual. Bugs such as silverfish, book lice, and linoleum beetles were referred to as bookworms because they inhabited books; thus the idiom. This piece of information is from https://www.gingersoftware.com. That is all for now! (P.S. sorry for my lack of skill in art.)

2 Comments
  1. It may have once been derogatory, but I think being called a bookworm is a huge compliment! Better than being an ipad-worm – is that a thing??

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *